Musicday

Following the success of our first Musicday last year, re:publica TEN in cooperation with Musicboard Berlin featured a dedicated track to the topic of music at the labore:tory. In the lead up to Musicday 2016, Musicboard Berlin and we selected the best of your submissions to present. We were looking for national and international exchanges of ideas, new formats and future developments in the music scene.

We discovered how mobile music apps and VR/AR affect how we enjoy music, looked at recording methods that deliver 360° sound, music startups that are shifting the relationship between producer and consumer and how virtual supergroups are made possible. Not only programme, but also hands-on: Musicday's Virtual Reality installations were made possible with the support of the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Technology and ResearchProjekt Zukunft with funds from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Music and digitisation have been tightly interwoven for some time. This motivated us to dedicate a full track to this topic at re:publica 2015. Big Data, open source and streaming services were some of the main topics discussed on the third and last day of last year's re:publica.

Rainer Henze kicked it off with his "The UX of Music" session. In his talk, he called for an open source music system featuring a customisable user interface and the transparent use of meta data. The panel discussion "Spotify, Deezer und Co.", looking at why users love and musicians loath streaming services, was particularly successful and focused on the musicians' perspective.

Some very informative insights were given by the Georg Martin Butz's talk "Pop will eat itselt". The basis of the talk was the question "is everything a remix?", looking at the concept of "making music with music" found in every period of time and human tradition. The talk given by Kevin Schramm was very entertaining. He discussed how Big Data changes music and presented his analysis by showing which musician had mastered the largest German language rap vocabulary. The re:cord Musicday also featured strong political demands in the field of music. In her keynote, Michela Magas, founder of Stockholm's Music Tech Fest, called for the music industry's grasp on copyrights to be loosened. This would allow the best chances for new business models to develop in the music field, she opined.

The first re:cord Musicday at re:publica 2015 gloriously concluded with the Italiopop-lyrics gala event. Guests played bingo, joined in sing-a-longs and drank complementary Ramazotti Amaro, Lambrusco wine and Tequila. The attendees entered a donation challenge in order to win an original CD copy of 1990s dance project Mo-Do's single "Eins, Zwei, Polizei". All donations went to the Hamburg-based Lampedusa project and the contest was accompanied by the Berlin Italopop band ITACA.

Check out our review of this year's Musicday down below, watch the video recordings of the talks on our YouTube channel.

Projekt Zukunft ("Project Future") is an initiative of the Berlin Senate Department for Economics, Technology and Research to support the growth areas of information and communication technology, media and creative economy. Projekt Zukunft develops strategies for Berlin as a location; it builds platforms, initiates networks for the digital and creative economy, organizes exchanges with businesses, develops new support instruments, compiles studies, and implements innovative projects in economy and society. 

The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) is one of the main regional development funds of the European Union. The ERDF aims to reinforce competition and innovation, create maintainable jobs, and safeguard sustainable development. 

Photo credit: Nickolai Kashirin — Headphones (CC BY 2.0)

re:publica 2015

News #rp15

04/20/2015

Music, music, music – lots of us, the re:publica team included, can’t make it through the day without our own personal soundtrack. But there’s so much more: we’re happy to present to you the first program highlights of the new re:cord MusicDay sub-conference.

04/14/2015

We have now published half of the #rp15 sessions as a program calendar. See what’s what on all of the 16 re:publica stages!

04/10/2015

For the first time, there will be a music theme day at re:publica – the re:cord MusicDay.

01/09/2015

There will be a Music Day at this year’s re:publica, organized with the all2gethernow alliance, the Berlin Music Commission, and the Xjazz Festival. You can apply now! 

Sessions #rp15

04/17/2015
Media Convention
STG-6
05/05/2015 - 13:30 to 14:00
German
Discussion
Beginner
04/16/2015
re:cord Musicday
Makerspace
05/07/2015 - 15:00 to 17:00
German/English
Workshop
Beginner
04/15/2015
re:cord Musicday
re:publica
05/06/2015 - 19:00 to 22:00
English
Action
Beginner
04/13/2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
05/07/2015 - 12:30 to 13:30
English
Discussion
Beginner
04/13/2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
05/07/2015 - 15:00 to 16:00
English
Discussion
Beginner
04/13/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 13:45 to 14:45
English
Discussion
Beginner
01/31/2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
05/07/2015 - 16:15 to 16:45
German
Discussion
Beginner
01/31/2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
05/07/2015 - 14:15 to 14:45
German
Talk
Intermediate
01/30/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 10:00 to 10:30
German
Discussion
Intermediate
01/30/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 17:30 to 18:30
German
Talk
Beginner
01/29/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 11:15 to 12:15
English
Discussion
Beginner
01/28/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 15:00 to 15:30
German
Talk
Intermediate
01/21/2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
05/07/2015 - 13:45 to 14:15
German
Talk
Intermediate
01/04/2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
05/07/2015 - 10:30 to 11:00
German
Talk
Beginner
Subscribe to RSS - Musicday

Musicday

Nach unserem ersten sehr erfolgreichen Musicday 2015 knüpften wir daran an und hatten auch auf der re:publica TEN in Kooperation mit dem Musicboard Berlin einen Schwerpunkt zum Thema Musik. Für den Musicday 2016 wählten wir zusammen mit dem Musicboard Berlin die besten Beiträge aus euren Einreichungen aus und präsentierten diese. Dabei ging es uns um den nationalen und internationalen Austausch, die Förderung neuer Formate und die Weiterentwicklung der Szene.

2016 stellten wir vor, wie mobile Apps und Virtual Reality/Augmented Reality unser Hörerlebnis beeinflussen, betrachteten 360-Grad-Aufzeichnungen, zeigten Musik-Startups, die das Verhältnis zwischen ProduzentInnen und KonsumentInnen verändern und wie virtuelle Supergruppen zustande kommen. Nicht nur im Programmteil, sondern auch zum selbst Erleben: Die Virtual-Reality-Installationen auf dem Musicday wurden durch die Unterstützung des Berliner Senats für Wirtschaft, Technologie und Forschung/ Projekt Zukunft ermöglicht und kofinanziert durch Mittel des Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE).

Musik und Digitales sind eng verflochten und das nicht erst seit Kurzem. Das war für uns Grund genug für einen Thementrack erstmalig auf der re:publica 2015. Big Data, Open Source und vor allem Streamingdienste waren nur einige der wichtigen Themen, die am dritten und letzten Tag der letztjährigen re:publica diskutiert wurden.

Den Auftakt machte Rainer Henze mit "The UX of Music". In seinem Talk plädierte er für ein Open-Source-Musiksystem, das ein anpassbares User Interface bietet und mit offenen Metdadaten arbeitet. Auf große Begeisterung stieß auch das Panel "Spotify, Deezer und Co. – Warum die Nutzer Streamingdienste lieben und Musiker sie verfluchen", bei dem es vor allem um die KünstlerInnen-Perspektive ging.

Aufschlussreiche Einblicke gewährte auch der Vortrag "Pop will eat itself" von Georg Martin Butz im Anschluss. Grundfrage des Talks war "Is everything a remix?", mit der Butz auf das "Musikmachen mit Musik“ anspielte, das in jeder Periode und Tradition eine Rolle gespielt hat. Für großen Spaß sorgte der Vortrag von Kevin Schramm. Er diskutierte, wie Big Data die Musik verändert und stellte seine Analyse vor, welcher Musiker den größten deutschen Rap-Wortschatz nutzt. Doch auch Musikpolitische Forderungen wurden auf dem ersten re:cord Musicday laut. Die Urheberrechte in der Musikindustrie müssen gelockert werden!" forderte Michela Magas, Gründerin des "Music Tech Fest" in Stockholm, in ihrer Keynote. Denn nur dadurch bestehe eine echte Chance für neue Geschäftsmodelle in diesem Bereich.

Der krönende Abschluss des ersten re:cord Musicdays der re:publica 2015 war die Schlagerlyrik-Gala mit Italo Pop. Es wurde Bingo gespielt, gesungen und Ramazotti, Lambrusco und Tequila für das Publikum ausgegeben. Die Zuhörer spendeten um die Wette, um eine Original-CD der Single "Eins, Zwei, Polizei" des 1990er-Dance-Projekts "Mo-Do" zu ergattern. Der Erlös ging an das Hamburger "Lampedusa"-Projekt und die Wett-Show wurde von der Berliner Italo-Pop-Band "ITACA" untermalt.

Schaut euch alle Videos zu unserem Musik-Schwerpunkt auf unserem YouTube-Kanal an und lest euch euch den Nachbericht zum Musicday durch (siehe unten).

Projekt Zukunft – angesiedelt bei der Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Technologie und Forschung – ist die Berliner Landesinitiative zur Förderung des Wachstumsfeldes IKT, Medien, Kreativwirtschaft. Projekt Zukunft erarbeitet Strategien für den Standort, baut Plattformen auf, initiiert Netzwerke, organisiert den Austausch mit den Unternehmen, entwickelt neue Förderinstrumente, erstellt Studien und realisiert innovative Projekte für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.

Der Europäische Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) ist das wichtigste Instrument der Regionalförderung der Europäischen Union. Der EFRE zielt dabei insbesondere auf die Notwendigkeit ab, Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovation zu stärken, dauerhafte Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen und zu erhalten, sowie eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu gewährleisten.

Bildernachweis: Nickolai Kashirin — Headphones (CC BY 2.0)

re:publica 2015

News #rp15

20.04.2015

Musik, Musik, Musik – viele von uns, auch das re:publica-Team, können nicht ohne die alltägliche Ohrenbeschallung. Aber da gibt es ja noch viel mehr: Wir freuen uns, euch erste Programmschwerpunkte der neuen Subkonferenz re:cord Musicday vorzustellen.

14.04.2015

Ab sofort ist die Hälfte der Sessions im Zeitplan als Programm-Kalender online. Seht, was es auf den 16 Bühnen der #rp15 alles gibt!

10.04.2015

Erstmalig gibt es mit dem re:cord Musicday einen Thementag Musik auf der re:publica!  

09.01.2015

Auf der re:publica gibt es in diesem Jahr auch einen Musiktag, der mit dem all2gethernow e.V., der Berlin Music Commission und dem Xjazz-Festival veranstaltet wird. Bewerbt euch jetzt dafür!

Sessions #rp15

17.04.2015
Media Convention
STG-6
05.05.2015 - 13:30 bis 14:00
Deutsch
Diskussion
Beginner
16.04.2015
re:cord Musicday
Makerspace
07.05.2015 - 15:00 bis 17:00
Deutsch/Englisch
Workshop
Beginner
15.04.2015
re:cord Musicday
re:publica
06.05.2015 - 19:00 bis 22:00
Englisch
Aktion
Beginner
13.04.2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
07.05.2015 - 12:30 bis 13:30
Englisch
Diskussion
Beginner
13.04.2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
07.05.2015 - 15:00 bis 16:00
Englisch
Diskussion
Beginner
13.04.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 13:45 bis 14:45
Englisch
Diskussion
Beginner
31.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
07.05.2015 - 16:15 bis 16:45
Deutsch
Diskussion
Beginner
31.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
07.05.2015 - 14:15 bis 14:45
Deutsch
Vortrag
Fortgeschrittene
30.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 10:00 bis 10:30
Deutsch
Diskussion
Fortgeschrittene
30.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 17:30 bis 18:30
Deutsch
Vortrag
Beginner
29.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 11:15 bis 12:15
Englisch
Diskussion
Beginner
28.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 15:00 bis 15:30
Deutsch
Vortrag
Fortgeschrittene
21.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
MIZ
07.05.2015 - 13:45 bis 14:15
Deutsch
Vortrag
Fortgeschrittene
04.01.2015
re:cord Musicday
STG-7
07.05.2015 - 10:30 bis 11:00
Deutsch
Vortrag
Beginner
RSS - Musicday abonnieren